RoR air 1

Air photo: Andrew Lajdziak

The voting is in from both the judges and for the Peoples Choice award.

DSC_9040_701The Peoples Choice award winner is Aloha Nana

aloha ps

Raft-O-Rama selects judges for their independence.  The judges have ruled and here are the winners.

DSC_8989_693Best Overall, adults 18 and up–State of Confusion (11)

Remarkably, the State of Confusion raft navigated the entire circumference of the lake in reverse!

Confusion winners ps

DSC_8938_688Best Overall, kids 17 and under–Happy Is Our State of Mind (16)

happy winner psThe Best Overall Youth award is now called the R. Tucker Boyers Cup.

DSC_8919_686Most Enthusiastic–Las Vegas, Nevada (10)

DSC_9072_704Most original–State of Inebriation (15)

DSC_9000_695Funniest–Hawaiian Manor (3)

The Hawaiian Manor group won Raft-O-Rama in 1965 and have not had an entry since then.  They decided to change that this year, and won the “funniest” category.

DSC_8980_692Closest to Theme–Wisconsin Cheese (1)

DSC_9050_702Most Colorful–United States (1)

DSC_9040_701Best Special Effects–Aloha Nana (12)

DSC_9015_697Furthest from Theme–State of Emergency (13)

DSC_8929_687Rookie Award–California Sharks (4)

DSC_9009_696Costumes Only–Ohio (9)

DSC_8959_691Most Attention to Detail–The Main Event (2)


DSC_8945_689Welcome to Florida (5)

DSC_8918_685Wyoming (6)

DSC_9064_703Alaskan Dog Sled (7)
Yes, that is Sarah Palin riding along.

DSC_9081_705Michigan (8)

Two winning raft entries honored the memory of Angela Ligibel, who passed away July 30th.  Angela was important not only to family and friends, but the Clark Lake community at large.  She was an avid fan of Raft-O-Rama and participated in it for many years.  Angela was known as “Nana” to her grandchildren and great-grandchildren and thus the raft entry “Aloha Nana.”  Her nickname was “Birdie” in Raft-O-Rama circles, and you can see that recognized on the Confusion raft.

birdie ps

Many of Angela’s family were present at the awards ceremony.  Afterwards they posed for this photo.


Evelyn Menard, winner of last year’s Mary Reynolds Spirit of Clark, congratulates this year’s winner–Bill Bendele, Jr. Evelyn’s love of fireworks has been her family’s inspiration to present magnificent displays at the east end on the Fourth of July since 2000.  Bill has been involved in many of the building and infrastructure projects around the lake.  The award was presented by Joey Reynolds.

DSC_9125_722And finally an airborne photo of Eagle Point where lots of today’s activity took place, courtesy of Andrew Lajdziak.

RoR air point 2