The Mary Reynolds Spirit of Clark Lake Award recognizes individuals or families who have contributed to the quality of life at Clark Lake.  This year the annual award went to Peggy Collins.  It can be said of Peggy that she has contributed greatly to life at the lake, and in a multitude of ways.  She has tirelessly volunteered her time to organizations such as the Spirit Trail and the Clark Lake Spirit Foundation.  She, and her family, have always made the Beach Bar available as a true center of the community.

The award was presented by Bill Bendele, who was last year’s recipient.  The announcement is traditionally made during post Raft-O-Rama ceremonies. 

The plaque is created each year by Mary Reynold’s daughter, Joey Reynolds Massangale.  According to Joey’s brother, Flip, their mother quietly found ways to make the lake a better place.  Clark Lake meant a lot to her.  Even in her last days, she continued to take part in the community, including Raft-O-Rama.  The award is decided upon by vote of the community with ballots available before Raft-O-Rama at local stores.

Other past winners include Peggy’s late husband, Tom, Bunty Adams, Louie & Michele Ambs, Bill Tuttle, Bev Avis, Loretto Baker, Don Fowler, R. Tucker Boyers, George Svinicki, Joanne Ambs, Ogden Adkins, John & Dotty Karkheck, Dick Cochran, Woody Newman, Ann Swain, Pat Dwyer, Jamie Mercer, Sam & Kathy Pease, Meredith Szostek, John Collins, and Evelyn Menard.