The event may be over, but it is still alive and the current talk of Clark Lake.  Below, find photos–some that have already been on this website that you may want to see again and some photos you haven’t seen before.  Also there’s a review of the winners–and at that very end, the complete listing of the finishes.

Poster logo Fleet 58 EventSunday, July 6th at Clark Lake was just about perfect for sailing–not too hot, not too cold and enough wind that sometimes offered turbo power to Hobie Cats participating in the Fleet 58 Reunion and Regatta.  Twenty-five Hobies entered the contest which meant to bring back the storied days when more Hobies sailed Clark Lake than any other inland lake in the country.

The course included the entire lake, with the start and finish at Eagle Point.  Here are the happy recipients of top 3 hardware awards for both 18-foot and 16-foot classes plus the award for best yachting attire, and presented by Clark Lake Spirit Foundation Chairman Mike McKay (to enlarge a photo, tap or click once, to reduce, repeat):

Not pictured:  3rd Place, 16-ft–Rusty Lyke & Rich Tallman

There was also an award for best yachting attire.  The winners were the Pease sisters–Debi Swihart, Terri Huffman and Sandy Pease-Simon (see photo above).

Interested in more Fleet 58 activity?  An idea is afoot. Email

Yacht Club staff officiating the race--foreground Bill Locke & Neil Robb

Yacht Club staff officiating the race–foreground Bill Locke & Neil Robb

The Fleet 58 Regatta and Reunion was sponsored by the Clark Lake Spirit Foundation, the Clark Lake Yacht Club and Pointe Bar and Grill.  The Yacht Club managed the race.  Big thanks go to Neil Robb (race judge), Bill & Amy Locke (scoring).  There were two Yacht Club support boats-one with Harry & Susan Souborin and Dan Hockenberry; and the other, Frank & Josie Hones.  Nick Tanis represented the Yacht Club at the information table at the Caribbean Buffet.

The Fleet 58 Committee worked hard in organizing the event.  They include Chairman Mike McKay, Michelle Ambs, Meredith Szostek, Dotty and John Karkheck, Hugh Harris (CLYC) and board members of the Clark Lake Foundation (not already mentioned)–Ann Swain, Linda Reynolds, Peggy Collins, Joe Thorrez, Michael Thorrez, Tom Petitto and Rick Belcher.  A photo used often on this website and in the Exponent was taken by Cheryl Fichtner.  Thanks also go to the Brooklyn Exponent which published an engaging, full-page article in advance of this event.

Roger Lyons expertly drove his Nautique so the race could be photographed by Rick Belcher.  To enlarge any photo, click on it.  To reduce it, click again.

Harry Sabourin piloted one of the Clark Lake Yacht Club support boats during the regatta.  In addition to his driving duties, he was also able to take some excellent photos of the action.  Be sure to click or tap each photo to get the full effect of these beautiful photos.

Here are the results for both 16 and 18 foot classes, listed by order of finish:

Finsh/ Name/ Crew/ Sail Number

1- Brian Fish/Elise Fish /53210
2- Jon Wedemeyer/Katie Wedemeyer/ 91779
3- Rusty Lyke/ Rich Tallman/ 88904
4- Craig Hamlan/ 18385
5- Patrick Walz/ John Kudner/ 86669
6- Brian Adamczyk/ Eric Adamczyk/ 14247
7- Brad Fish/ Robert Fish /46004
8- Jeff Nuge/ Maris Nuge /72815
9- Robert Vermeulen /Scott Vermeulen /56059
10- Bill Tuttle /Gary Wrozek /54953
11- B.J. Lyons /Sally Lyons /37
12- Dan Omo /David Wiemer /none
13- Phil Schindler /Sally McCarthy /red-white-blue
14- Terri Pease Huffman/ Sandy Pease Simon/ Debi Pease Swihart/ 44
15- Louie Ambs/ Michele Ambs/ 23293
16- Eddy Lyke/ Kelly Lyke/ none
17- DNS 88314
18- Carl Noechel/ Meredith Meston/ 40074
DNF- Stoney Green/ 94104
DNS- Tyler Dever/ Travis Nichols
DNS- Kevin Fink/ Tucker Boyers

1- Joe Thorrez Kathleen Thorrez 74 / 48
2- Lynn Vermeulen/ Maggie Vermeulen 15003
3- Michael McCarthy/ Kristin Johnson 932
4- Walt Shuberg/ Justin Shuberg/Mike Bullinger/ 2217
5- Connor Stewart/ William Stewart/ 9505
6- L.J. Wilkinson/ Jakobi Salisbury/ Getaway
7- Christopher Gleeson/ 260